current|archive|email|profile|bio|links|notes|guestbook|Blather|design|host

Are you a character?
12 May 2003 @ 8:22 pm

SCREEN BLACK

FADE IN:

Arizona - Livingroom of current residence - NIGHT

KATIE stares at feet with arms CROSSED, corners of mouth carrying a small frown. In various positions around the disheaveled room sits DOUG, MOM, ADAM, BRYAN, BOBBIE, JEFFER, and SCOTT. They see each other but almost REFUSE to acknowledge each other.

KATIE (V.O.)-
This is Doug, my stepfather...

PULL BACK to DOUG, cheap lite beer in hand, screaming into cell phone. He still wears his work clothes from earlier in the day. They smell like grease and diesel fuel.

KATIE (V.O.)-
My greatest enemy but somehow we manage not to kill each other. We live alone together because my mother recently became a truck driver and chooses to no longer come home. He controls every aspect of my pathetically mundane life.

RESUME SHOT on LIVINGROOM

KATIE (V.O.)-
This is Tary, my truck driving mother.

PULL BACK to MOM, now in FRONT SEAT of 18 wheeler, 40ish woman with laugh wrinkles and short graying hair.

My family has put her through hell over the years and it's no wonder she finds better companionship out on the open road. She fights her age with tattoos (2), piercings (nose), and going to punk rock shows with me, when she can. She was the coolest mom of them all through high school.

PAN and FOCUS on ADAM, twenty-three, very slightly built. With a body language of sheer determination, he looks like an arrogant punk.

KATIE (V.O.)-
This is my direct supervisor at work. He is my second greatest enemy of all time. Don't get me wrong, socially we get along great. I can get drunk with him and do stupid things, and all's well. But as soon as he is my superior, he is belittling and unneedfully harsh.

FADE IN on BRYAN

KATIE (V.O.)-

This is Bryan, or B as I like to call him.

BRYAN is complusively peeling the label off his 20 oz bottle of water.

We work together and somehow over the last two years I have manged to convince him to tell me things. He trusts me, and I have never broken that trust. And I hope to god I never will.

PAN BACK to LIVINGROOM, where BOBBIE is busy YAMMERING to anyone who will listen.

FOCUS IN on KATIE

KATIE -
That's Maria Roberta Ann Martens-Perham, or just Bobbie. I've known her since 7th grade. It's been an on/off friendship since then. She's recently been married and moved to Cali to follow her Naval Husband. Every once and again she'll pop up with a voice message, sounding unbearably happy, just to pass along gossip of the old group. Speaking of the old group...

KATIE BOBS her head towards a cute but stuffy looking young girl dressed in a MARINES UNIFORM, JENNIFER

KATIE (V.O.)-
I haven't spoken to Jeffer since the summer right after graduation. We also met for the first time in 7th grade. Our friendship started out rocky, but by the beginning of High School we were locked at the hip. Unfortunately, the closer it got to senior graduation, the farther apart we fell. The culmination came when she ditched me one night to go out drinking with a bunch of guys . The kicker is she met them at her Marines training group, and that's what made them so much cooler. I sent her a letter once, it took her 6 months to reply and she seemed to have no intrest whatsoever.

KATIE looks away, apparently trying to hold back silent pain.

SCOTT LOOKS OVER and attempts to say something, but KATIE CONTINUES

Last but not least, there's Scott. I don't even know what to say about him. Within the last two weeks divorce papers have been passed between him and his wife. I guess I'll figure things out with him, sooner or later.

LIGHTS FADE, SCREEN BLACK
KEY IN "TIME OF YOUR LIFE" - GREENDAY

Older Entries
This is the end of it. - 29 March 2004
Dream On - 22 February 2004
Until the Day I Die - 24 January 2004
It hurts to love him - 22 December 2003
Blood Brothers - 21 December 2003

Take a Deep Breath & Step Forward
� Copyright 2003, 2004 by RavenousEyes